Home > Oasis of Peace > Information > Awards and Prizes

Awards and Prizes


Received by Wahat al-Salam - Neve Shalom or its institutions

June 2014

School for Peace awarded Journalists and Writers Foundation (JWF) Prize

April 2010

Nava Sonnenschein awarded "Women of Courage" certificate


Women's Peace Power Foundation - "Women of Peace Award", to School for Peace staff Nava Sonnenschein and Wafaa Zriek Srour

May 2008

Frederick II Peace Prize, Castel Del Monte, Italy

Dec 2006

American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee of Michigan - Building Bridges Award

July 2006

Coppa Video Award at the Anti-Racist World Cup in Montecchio, Italy for the film "Face to Face" (about young people in the community)

April 2003

Deutsch-Israelische Gesellschaft Peace Prize to the School for Peace, for "employment of communication and equal exchange between Jews and Arabs."

Dec 2002

Peacemaker Award, The Commission on Peace of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington.

June 2002

2002 Award for Humanity, CEVI (Christian Associations of Young Women and Men) and GRA (Foundation Against Racism and Antisemitism) Switzerland.

Dec. 2001

Annual prize, Italian Committee of UNICEF, for working to create a better future for children. The second recipient was Cesare de Florio La Rocca, President of AXI, the Adolescent and Child Protection and Defense Project, of Brazil

Nov. 2000

NSWAS founding member Anne Le Meignen was named Chevalier dans l'Ordre National du Mérite by the Republic of France.

Aug. 2000

Geneva International Medal of Excellence Award (Nominated for Medaille d’Excellence 2000 in the category of youth for the work of NSWAS youth and the program for youth).

July 2000

Academy of Family Mediators 2000 Peace Award (instituted in 1988 to honor outstanding contributions to global peace.) Past recipients included US Dept. of Justice Community Relations Service and The Carter Center. NSWAS was nominated for its exceptional endeavors to promote equality and understanding by creating an oasis of peace.

Sept 1998

Recognition for "Outstanding Acts of Courage" by the Simon Wiesenthal Center


Paul Harris Prize of Rotary, Israel.

Nov. 1994

Pfarrer-Georg-Fritze-Gedaechtnisgabe,Koeln, Germany.

May 1993

Niwano Peace Prize, Japan.

May 1991

Marcus Sieff Award, Israel. Second place was shared with Rafiq Halabi and Shlomo Buhbut.


Fontazione S. Valentino, Terni, Italy. Received in previous year by Mother Theresa.

Jan. 1991

Arsenale della Pace, Casa della Speranza “Michele Pellegrino,” Italy.


The John Lindgren Foundation, Sweden.

Dec. 1989

“Beyond War” Prize, USA. This prize was shared with Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter for their work in the Carter Center, and “Koinonia,” a South African organization which brings together Black and White people.


Ahavat Shalom Congregation of San Francisco - Social action fund in memory of Steve Berman.

June 1989

ICCJ Golden Interfaith Medallion. International Council of Christians and Jews.

July 1988

Bruno Kreisky Foundation Prize - Austria.

Mar. 1987

Buber - Rosensweig Medal - Germany. Later received by Yehudi Menuhin.

Sept. 1986

Armstrong Prize for Leadership. ICCY, Jerusalem.

Sylvia Stern Memorial Prize - New Outlook Magazine.

In addition to the above,the Swedish Parliament nominated NS/WAS for five consecutive years to receive the Nobel Peace Prize.

print mail.gif, 1 kB


mail.gif, 1 kB


Follow site activity RSS 2.0 | Site Map | SPIP | Creative Commons License
All original content licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Israel License.