Home > Oasis of Peace > Community > Community government > Village Elections 2007

Village Elections 2007

February 2007

On Thursday, February 22, elections took place in Neve Shalom Wahat al-Salam.
 This was the first time for elections to take place under the new administrative structure of the village, which abolished the position of General Secretary (sometimes described in our literature as "Mayor"), and established a clearer separation between the Municipal Society / Corporation and its educational institutions. (The main activity of the Corporation is the Guest House).
The election results were as follows:

A. Committee of the Municipal Society and the Corporation

  1. Chair: Eyas Shbeta
  2. Yaacov (Coby) Sonnenschein
  3. Eitan Kremer
  4. Rim Nashef
  5. Ahmad Hijazi
  6. Yair Ben Shabbat
  7. Ilan Frish

B. Board of Directors of the Association of the Educational Institutions of NSWAS (the "Association")

  1. Chair: Boaz Kitain
  2. Ruth Shuster
  3. Eitan Kremer
  4. Kamel Tibi

According to the new organizational structure, the Chair of the Municipal Society
(Eyas Shbeta) and an additional member of the Society (besides Eitan Kremer, who was elected to both bodies, are to be chosen to represent the Society in meetings of the Association). 

The Board of Directors must similarly appoint two professionals in the field of education.

C. Comptroller / Oversight Committee

  1. Eli Ben Ari
  2. Dorit Shippin

It was also decided at the election meeting that, as soon as possible, an Arab
member is to be elected to the committee.

General Notes

  1. All positions are voluntary and unpaid (except for return of expenses) .
  2. The term for all positions is one year, with the intention of extending this up to a
    term of two years (in total), as soon as changes can be made that would permit this to the charter of the Municipal Society and the Association.
  3. In due course, the Committee of the Municipal Society and the Corporation,
    and the board of directors of the Association may adopt additional
    features outlined in the new organizational structure.


Boaz Kitain and Eyas Shbeta

Also in this section

  • New Municipal Society Board voted in

    Friday 3 March 2017

    On March 3, the community voted in a new board. Anwar Dawood was voted in as chair.

  • A woman to lead us

    Sunday 3 August 2008 ::

    Dorit Shippin, recently elected Chair of the Community Association, shares some thoughts on her guiding vision and the importance of partnership, constructive dialogue, imagination, and (...)

  • The Municipal Society focusing on village expansion

    Thursday 10 January 2008 ::

    Growing a village requires infinite care. Municipal Board chair Eyas Shbeta discusses some of the processes in which the board is currently involved.

  • Elections 2005

    Monday 3 October 2005

    In annual elections, the community voted in Rayek Rizek as secretary general replacing Abdessalam Najjar (who did not run for re-election). On the secretariat this year will be Maurice Ben (...)

  • February in NSWAS

    Sunday 29 February 2004

    It’s springtime in Israel. The almond trees have been in blossom from the beginning of the month, and now the earth is carpeted with yellow and red flowers. During the last weekend of the month, (...)

0 | 5



Printable version



mail.gif, 1 kB

Follow site activity RSS 2.0 | Site Map | SPIP | Creative Commons License
All original content licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Israel License.